Guide

Romantic Paris : A Photographic Guide

The fifteen most romantic places in Paris

1. Le Quai d’Orléans / Quai d’Orléans embankment
Quain d'orléans-Diesbach

With an impregnable vue on Notre Dame cathedral, the quai d’Orléans embankment follows the Seine river, on the south side of the Saint-Louis island. It was built between 1614 and 1646 in the honour of King Louis XIII’s young brother, Gaston Baptist of France, duc of Orléans. From the embankment one sees the eastern end of the Cité island, the separation in two of the Seine and the back of Notre-Dame cathedral. To go there : Metro Station ” Pont Marie ” line 7.

2. Le Pont de l’Archevêché / Archevéché bridge
Pont de l'archevéché-Diesbach

Built in 1828, under the reign of Charles X, this is the narrowest Paris bridge (11 meters only), and the lowest also (8 meters over the water). It is situated behind Notre-Dame and gives an exceptional view of the cathedral. Since 2012, lovers secure love-padlocks on the bridge. To go there : Metro Station ” Cité ” line 4.

3. Le Square du Vert Galant / Vert-Galant square
Vert Galant-Diesbach

The square is situated at the western end of the Cité island. It’s name comes from King Henry IV called Green-Gallant because of his number of mistresses and gallant affaires, the King’s showing himself still as capable of « green » ardour ! Photographed by well-known artists (Doisneau, Brassaï), the square offers the shade of its trees to lovers who may need it. The embankment at the end of the square offers a great view of the river. To go there : Metro Station ” Pont Neuf ” line 7.

4. Le Pont Marie / Pont Marie Bridge

Pont marie
This is Paris’s oldest bridge, built between 1614 and 1635 by engineer-entrepreneur Chistophe Marie. At the origin, there were fifty houses on the bridge, but they were swept away by the floods of 1658. Named the « lover’s bridge », tradition has it that couples should kiss under its arches, making a vow ! To go there : Metro « Pont Marie » line 7.

5. Le Pont des Arts

Pont des ARts Built by Napoleon, this was Paris’ first metallic bridge. Since 2008, the wire netting along the bridges sides is covered with padlocks left by couples coming from the whole world. The weight of the « love-locks » risking the parapets to collapse, the mayor of Paris decided in 2014 that the « love-locks » should be covered with glass and none more added. The Pont des Arts gives an exceptional view on the Cité island, where the Seine rivers separates in two. To go there : Metro « Pont Neuf » line 7 or « Louvre-Rivoli » line 1.

6. Pont Alexandre III / Alexander III Bridge

Pont Alexandre 3
Inaugurated for the universal exhibition of 1900, the bridge was meant to symbolise Russian and French friendship. It’s metallic, with a width of 40 meters, with one sole arch, 107 meters long, along the Invalides and Grand Palais axes. Numerous lamp posts and cast-iron statues form a rich ornementation. For many young, to-be married couples, this is Paris’ most romantic bridge.To go there : Metro Station « Invalides » line 8 ou 13.

7. Passerelle Debilly / Debilly footbridge

Passerelle DebillyThe Debilly footbridge enables pedestrians to cross the river. It was built for the universal exhibition of 1900 for the circulation of the visitors. Condemned to be destroyed at the end of the exhibition, like the Eiffel tower, (which did not happen !) the footbridge is a witness of its time. During the cold war, the footbridge was a rendez-vous for Soviet secret agents. Photographers can get a great view of the Eiffel tower, the absence of cars permitting one to make ones shots in total security. To go there : Metro Station : “Alma-Marceau” line 9.

8. La Pyramide du Louvre / The Louvre Pyramid

Louvre Pyramide-DiesbachThe Louvre Pyramid, in metal and glass, covers the entrance of the Louvre museum and was opened to the public in 1998. It’s in the middle of the Napoleon courtyard. The Pyramid is surrounded by seven triangular basins in granite, filled with mirror-like water. I did this photo of a couple at the end of the day, in backlight, to accentuate the magic aspect of the moment. To go there : Metro Station « Palais Royal-Musée du Louvre » line 1 ou 7.

9. Le Kiosque des Noctambules / The Nocambules kiosk

Kiosque Noctambule-Diesbach

The kiosk creates a strange, eyecatching entrance to the Palais Royal métro station, designed by the artist Jean-Michel Othoniel. Formed by two hollowed-out cupolas, whose structure is covered by coloured globes in Murano blown glass. Shining like a fairground roundabout, the kiosk makes a great mark on the urban universe. It enables one to give one’s photos a baroque touch. To go there : Metro Station « Palais Royal-Musée du Louvre » line 1 ou 7.

10. La Galerie Vivienne / The galerie Vivienne arcade

Gallerie Vivienne-Diesbach This arcade can be found 6 rue Vivienne, behind the palais de la Bourse. With a length of 176 meters, it houses a number of shops. The arcade was built in 1823 and keeps the charm of nineteenth century Paris. On rainy days, it gives photographers a safe place for prestigious views. Because of its glass walls and roof, light is abundant. To go there : Metro Station « Bourse » line 3.

11. Le Champs de Mars / the Champ de Mars park

Champs de Mars-Diesbach
Open to the public since 1780, the Champ de Mars park is between the Ecole Militaire (the Military school building) and the Eiffel tower. Parisians and tourists come here to pick-nick on the lawns and, when night falls, to look at the sparkling lights coming from the Eiffel tower. The place Jacques Rueff, in the middle of the Champ de Mars, is less crowded by tourists than the Trocadéro esplanade and will give you a easier place to make your photos of the Eiffel Tower. To go there : Metro Station « École Militaire » line 8.

12. Le Palais Galliera

Palais Galliera-Diesbach
This palace, inspired by the Renaissance, was built at the end of the nineteenth century and houses today the Fashion museum (Musée de la mode). Two porticos reach out from each side of the building, overlooking stairs going down into a park. To gain the left-side portico, one must enter through the square Brignole Galliera. This portico is convenient for photographers on rainy days. To go there : Metro Station « Alma-Marceau » ou « Iéna » line 9.

13. Les Escaliers de Montmartre / The Butte Montmartre steps

Montmartre-Diesbach
Near the Sacré Cœur basilica, dominating the hill (I30 meters high), the Butte (« hill ») Montmartre embodies the true Parisian romanticism. Its sinuous streets create the illusion of a small village of yesterday and maintain lovers in an nineteenth century atmosphere. The stone stairways, with their street lamps, offer an inescapable decor. They offer spectacular bird eye and counter bird eye views for the photographer. To go there : Metro Station « Abbesses » line 12.

14. Le Mur des « je t’aime » / The « I love you » wall

Mur des Je T'aime-Diesbach
The « I love you » wall is to be found square Jehan Rictus, place des Abbesses. It’s a lovers rendez-vous. Its surface is 40m2, with 612 panes on which love declarations, written in hand, have been inscribed in more than 300 languages.To go there : Metro Station « Abbesses » line 12.

15. La Fontaine Medicis / The Médecis fountain

Luxemboourg-Diesbach
The baroque Médicis fountain is situated in the Luxembourg gardens. Henri IV’s widow, Marie de Médicis, had it built in 1630. She wanted to recreate the atmosphere of the Italian gardens of her youth, with their nymphea and fountains. The Médecis fountain, draped with ivy, is amongst the most romantic places in Paris. Its water basin, 50 meters long, surrounded by plane trees, has a magic allure. To go there : Metro Station « Cluny-La Sorbonne » line 10 ou Odéon, line 4.

Guide

Paris Romantique : Guide Photographique

Les quinze lieux les plus romantiques de Paris

1. Le Quai d’Orléans
Quain d'orléans-Diesbach

Autre point de vue imprenable sur la cathédrale Notre Dame, le quai d’Orléans. Il se situe le long de la Seine, sur le côté sud de L’île Saint-Louis. Il fut construit entre 1614 et 1646 en l’honneur du jeune frère du roi Louis XIII, Gaston Jean Baptiste de France, duc d’Orléans. On voit depuis le quai d’Orléans, l’extrémité Est de l’île de la cité, la séparation de la Seine en deux et l’arrière de la cathédrale Notre-Dame. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Pont Marie » ligne 7.

2. Le Pont de l’Archevêché
Pont de l'archevéché-Diesbach

Construit en 1828 sous le règne de Charles X, c’est le pont le plus étroit de Paris (11 mètres seulement). Il se situe derrière Notre-Dame et fournit une vue exceptionnelle de la cathédrale. Par ailleurs, il est le pont le plus bas de la seine (8 mètres) ce qui donne une proximité tangible avec l’eau. Depuis 2010, les amoureux y laissent des cadenas d’amour. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro  » Cité  » ligne 4.

3. Le Square du Vert Galant
Vert Galant-Diesbach

Il se situe à la pointe ouest de l’île de la cité. Il doit son nom au Roi Henri IV, surnommé le « Vert Galant » en raison de ses nombreuses maîtresses malgré son âge avancé. Photographié par les plus grands artistes ( Doisneau, Brassaï ), le square du Vert-Galant permet aux couples de se relaxer sous les arbres en regardant passer les bateaux. Le quai qui se trouve à l’extrémité du square, offre une vue magnifique sur la Seine. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Pont Neuf » ligne 7.

4. Le Pont Marie

Pont marie C’est le pont le plus ancien de Paris, il fut construit par l’ingénieur-entrepreneur Christophe Marie entre 1614 et 1635. Il soutenait à l’origine une cinquantaine de maisons, toutes emportées par les crues de la Seine de 1658. Surnommé le « pont des amoureux », la tradition veut que les couples s’embrassent en faisant un vœu sous le pont Marie. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Pont Marie » ligne 7.

5. Le Pont des Arts

Pont des ARts Construit par Napoléon Bonaparte, c’est le premier pont métallique de Paris. Depuis 2008, les parapets grillagés du pont sont recouverts de cadenas accrochés par des couples du monde entier. Ce sont les « cadenas de l’amour ». Le poids accumulé des cadenas provoque l’effondrement des parapets. La mairie de Paris a décidé en 2014 de les supprimer en plaçant des panneaux de verre. Le Pont des Arts offre une vue exceptionnelle sur l’île de la cité, à l’endroit même où la Seine se sépare en deux. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Pont Neuf » ligne 7 ou « Louvre-Rivoli » ligne 1.

6. Pont Alexandre III

Pont Alexandre 3 Inauguré pour l’exposition universelle de 1900, le pont symbolisait l’amitié franco-russe. Ce pont se situe d’une part, dans l’axe de l’esplanade des invalides et d’autre part, dans l’axe du grand Palais. C’est un pont métallique de 40 mètres de large composé d’une seule arche de 107 mètres. Les ornements sont nombreux : lampadaires et statues en fonte. Pour beaucoup de jeunes et futurs mariés c’est le pont le plus romantique de Paris. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Invalides » ligne 8 ou 13.

7. Passerelle Debilly

Passerelle Debilly La passerelle Debilly a été construite pour l’exposition universelle de 1900 pour permettre la circulation des piétons. Condamné à être détruite à la fin de l’exposition universelle comme la Tour Eiffel, la passerelle Debilly demeure le témoin de son époque. Durant la guerre froide, elle fut un lieu de réunion pour les agents secrets soviétiques. Pour les photographes, elle offre une très belle vue sur la Tour Eiffel. L’absence de véhicule motorisé permet de photographier en toute tranquillité. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Alma-Marceau » ligne 9.

8. La Pyramide du Louvre

Louvre Pyramide-Diesbach La Pyramide du Louvre est constituée de verre et de métal. Elle se situe au milieu de la cour Napoléon du musée du Louvre. Elle fut ouverte au public en avril 1989. La pyramide est entourée de sept bassins triangulaires en granit dont l’eau multiplie les jeux de miroir. J’ai réalisé cette photographie de couple en fin de journée. Je me suis placé en contre jour afin d’accentuer l’aspect féérique du lieu. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Palais Royal-Musée du Louvre » ligne 1 ou 7.

9. Le Kiosque des Noctambules

Kiosque Noctambule-Diesbach

C’est une bouche de métro insolite de la station Palais Royal. Elle est l’œuvre de l’artiste Jean-Michel Othoniel. L’entrée du kiosque des noctambules est constituée de deux coupoles serties de bulles colorées en verre soufflé de Murano. Clinquant comme un manège forain, le kiosque tranche dans l’univers urbain et permet de photographier les couples dans un univers baroque. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Palais Royal-Musée du Louvre » ligne 1 ou 7.

10. La Galerie Vivienne

Gallerie Vivienne-Diesbach Cette galerie se situe au 6 rue Vivienne, derrière le palais de la Bourse. Elle est un passage de 176 mètres de long, bordé de nombreuses boutiques. La galerie fut construite en 1823 et conserve le charme du Paris du dix-neuvième siècle. Les jours de pluie, elle offre aux amoureux un refuge pour des photographies prestigieuses. Grâce à ses verrières, la lumière est toujours abondante. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Bourse » ligne 3.

11. Le Champs de Mars

Champs de Mars-Diesbach
Ouvert en 1780, le parc du Champs de Mars se situe entre l’École Militaire et la Tour Eiffel. Les parisiens et les touristes viennent pique-niquer sur ses pelouses et admirent la nuit le scintillement des lumières de la tour Eiffel. La place Jacques Rueff se situe au milieu du Champs de Mars et offre une perspective exceptionnelle. Ce lieu est beaucoup mois fréquenté par les touristes que l’esplanade du Trocadéro et il vous sera beaucoup plus facile de photographier.
Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « École Militaire » ligne 8.

12. Le Palais Galliera

Palais Galliera-Diesbach
Ce palais d’inspiration renaissance fut construit à la fin du dix-neuvième siècle et abrite aujourd’hui le musée de la mode. Deux portiques se dégagent de part et d’autre du bâtiment. Ils surplombent deux escaliers descendant au parc. Pour rejoindre le portique gauche, il faut entrer par le square Brignole Galliera, avenue du président Wilson. Ce portique est idéal pour photographier par temps de pluie. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Alma-Marceau » ou « Iéna » ligne 9.

13. Les Escaliers de Montmartre

Montmartre-Diesbach
La Butte Montmartre incarne le romantisme à la parisienne. Ses rues sinueuses et escarpées constituent le cadre de ce « petit village parisien » d’antan et permettent aux amoureux de retrouver l’ambiance « 1900 ». Les escaliers pavés, munis de lampadaires sont des lieux photographiques incontournables. Ils permettent des angles de vue en plongée ou contre-plongée spectaculaires. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Abbesses » ligne 12.

14. Le Mur des « je t’aime »

Mur des Je T'aime-Diesbach
Le mur des « Je t’aime » se trouve dans le square Jehan Rictus, place des Abbesses. Ce mur est construit sur une surface de 40m2 à partir de 612 carreaux. Il reprend la tradition des amoureux de graver les initiales ou les noms de leurs premières passions. Les mots « Je t’aime » sont écrits à la main sur ce mur, dans plus de 300 langues différentes. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Place des Abbesses » ligne 12.

15. La Fontaine Médicis

Luxemboourg-Diesbach
Ce monument baroque se situe dans le jardin du Luxembourg. C’est la veuve d’Henri IV, Marie de Médicis qui fit construire la fontaine en 1630. Elle voulait retrouver l’atmosphère des nymphées et fontaines des jardins italiens de son enfance. La fontaine Médicis, avec ses drapés de lierre, est l’un des lieux les plus romantiques de Paris. Son bassin d’eau de 50 mètres de long, bordé d’une allée de platanes, lui donne une allure féérique. Pour se rendre sur place : Métro « Cluny-La Sorbonne » ligne 10 ou Odéon, ligne 4.