Nuit-Debout

Stand up – Night

Under a warm April sun, I went to the place de la République, in Paris. It was the end of an afternoon, I was trying to understand the Nuit-Debout (The Stand up-Night). Neither approving nor condemning, but seeing this movement as it was, this village fair, astonishing and irritating.
Nuit_debout-1 On the Place, one talks tremendously, in small groups or in assemblies, some are making sketches, others are cooking or singing or consulting with lawyers. In total, one wants to PARTICIPATE ! “Participation” is the major trend behind social networks success. Like Facebook, Nuit-Debout is a fun mess, as fun as the desire to express oneself.

Nuit_debout-220 or 30 people meet to create a commission. These are big in number and diverse in nature: Action commission, Camping commission, Stand Sketching commission etc. … Here, the Digital commission is opening a debate: RECONSTRUCTING DEMOCRACY, why, how and with whom. A huge debate, anchored by Richard Stallmon, the creator of the free softwear movement.

Nuit_debout-3

Nuit_debout-4

Nuit_debout-5Debout-Choir / Protest songs Workshop. A time for me to rediscover old French songs. Before the event of mass media, songs used to communicate information. There were songs about everything: prison, strikes, fires, shipwrecks.

Nuit_debout-6

Nuit_debout-7

Nuit_debout-8Each evening, the general meeting attracts hundreds of people. Speakers follow each other continuously, talking for two or three minutes. Struggles concerning intermittent workers, feminists, union members. The community restaurant interrupts the flow: “We need a gas bottle. Does anyone have one?”

Nuit_debout-9Is this what a revolution looks like? A torrent of words, the intense need to express oneself ? I remember how Tocqueville remembered the 1848 revolution. Also in my mind, Willliam Klein’s movie on May 68 : “Big nights and tight mornings” (“Grands soirs et petits matins”). The same scenes now and then: people talking to people they don’t know. Strangers listening to each other and reconstructing the world.

Nuit_debout-10

Nuit_debout-11

Nuit_debout-12

Nuit_debout-13Cut-out pieces of paper and coloured pencils. In the République village, one listens to all opinions and one has fun in creative workshops. Against uniform thinking and forms, one attitude: “I WAS THE ONE WHO DID IT”.

Nuit_debout-15Nuit-Debout invents a language for assembly participation. To show one’s approval, one elevates one’s two arms and one agitates one’s wrists. Other signs indicate disapprobation, the desire to speak, the wish for silence …

Nuit_debout-16Impaired-hearing people are numerous at Nuit-Debout. They fight for better access to all communication means. 500.000 hearing-impaired and blind people cannot make a phone call because of their state. They want telecom operators to create centres for relay phoning. These would transcribe simultaneously a conversation into sign language or in a multimodal way.

Nuit_debout-17

Nuit_debout-18I am impressed by the scale of the mobilisation and by its diversity. All the professions seem to be at Place de la République: doctors, lawyers, cooks. Under the protection of an awning, a tv station has been created. At the entrance, one reads a scrawl: “Don’t enter, show in process.”

Nuit_debout-19

Nuit_debout-20The inescapable media person. A bit worn out and disoriented, waiting for a violent occurrence or for anything to happen.

Nuit_debout-21

Nuit_debout-22

Nuit-Debout

Nuit-Debout

Par un beau soleil d’avril, je me suis rendu place de la République. Une fin d’après-midi d’un fin de week-end, pour comprendre le phénomène « Nuit-Debout ». Ni approuver, ni condamner mais saisir un mouvement, une kermesse, qui étonne et agace.
Nuit_debout-1 Sur la place, on parle beaucoup, en petit comité comme en assemblée, on fait des dessins, parfois la cuisine, on chante et on consulte des avocats. En bref on veut PARTICIPER ! La « participation » est une tendance lourde, elle a fait le succès des réseaux sociaux. Comme Facebook, « Nuit-Debout » est un joyeux bordel, joyeux comme le désir de s’exprimer.

Nuit_debout-2On rassemble 20 à 30 personnes et on organise des commissions. Elles sont diverses et multiples : commission Campement, commission Dessin Debout etc… Ici sur l’image, la commission Numérique qui lance un débat : REFAIRE LA DÉMOCRATIE, pourquoi, comment et avec qui ? Un vaste débat animé par Richard Stallmon, initiateur du mouvement du logiciel libre.

Nuit_debout-3

Nuit_debout-4

Nuit_debout-5Chorale-Debout / Atelier de chansons de lutte. Une occasion pour moi de découvrir de vieilles chansons françaises. Avant la prédominance des médias de masse, les chansons véhiculaient l’information. Il y avait des chansons sur tout : le bagne, les grèves, les incendies et les naufrages.

Nuit_debout-6

Nuit_debout-7

Nuit_debout-8Tous les soirs, l’assemblée générale réunit des centaines de gens. C’est un défilé d’intervenants prenant la parole pendant deux à trois minutes . Des luttes rassemblant des intermittents, des féministes, des syndicalistes. Le restaurant communautaire en profite pour prendre le micro : « Nous avons besoin d’une bonbonne de Gaz, qui en possède une ? ».

Nuit_debout-9Est-ce donc cela une révolution ? Un torrent de paroles, un désir irrépressible d’expression. Je pense aux souvenirs de Tocqueville sur la révolution de 1848. Me vient aussi à l’esprit, le film de William Klein sur mai 68 « Grands soirs et petits matins ». On y retrouve les mêmes scènes : des gens qui se parlent, inconnus les uns aux autres. Des inconnus qui s’écoutent et refont le monde.

Nuit_debout-10

Nuit_debout-11

Nuit_debout-12

Nuit_debout-13Papiers découpés et crayons de couleur. Au village de la République, on écoute les prises de parole et l’on se divertit dans les ateliers créatifs. Contre l’uniformisation de la pensée et des formes, une seule attitude. L’attitude « C’EST-MOI-QUI-L’AI-FAIT ».

Nuit_debout-15Nuit-Debout invente une langue de signes pour débattre en assemblées. Pour manifester son approbation, on lève les deux mains et on remue les poignets. Il existe aussi des gestes pour la désapprobation, la demande de parole, la demande de silence…

Nuit_debout-16Les malentendants sont très actifs au sein de Nuit-Debout. Ils se battent pour l’accessibilité de tous aux moyens de communication. 500 000 malentendants et aveugles ne peuvent téléphoner du fait de leur handicap. Ils font pression sur les opérateurs télécoms afin qu’ils créent un « centre de relais téléphonique ». Un centre qui assure en mode simultané la transcription en langue de signes ou en communication multimodale d’une conversation.

Nuit_debout-17

Nuit_debout-18Je suis étonné par la mobilisation et sa diversité. On trouve place de la République, un tas de professions différentes : des médecins, des avocats, des cuisiniers. Sous la protection d’une bâche tendue, un studio de télévision s’est créé. A l’entrée de la tente, on lit sur un vieux morceau de carton déchiré : « Ne pas rentrer, émission en cours ».

Nuit_debout-19

Nuit_debout-20L’inévitable personnage des médias. Un peu hagard, un peu flippé, dans l’attente d’un débordement violent ou d’un je-ne-sais-quoi.

Nuit_debout-21

Nuit_debout-22